New Management of IEEE Karachi to focus on IT based services

New Management of IEEE Karachi to focus on IT based services

The Annual General meeting (AGM) of IEEE Karachi was held in the first month of 2020. AGM highlighted the achievements of previous year activities and announced the new governing body for the year 2020. During the meeting it was discussed that the future students will be encouraged to work on projects related to Sustainable /Renewable Energy Development, IOT for Industry, IOT for Agriculture, IOT for Smart Cities.

Professor BS Chowdhry, who took over as the Chair of IEEE Karachi Section thanked the IEEE EXCOM/Members IEEE Karachi Section for their confidence, trust and support for entrusting him with IEEE Karachi Section Chair position. Engr Samir Dossal, Chairman Canada-Pakistan Business Council was the Chief Guest of Award Ceremony whereas Engr Saeed Setthar former Secretary and Engr Gul Hassan Bhutto were the Guest of Honours.

Office bearers elected includes Prof. Dr. Tariq Rahim Soomro as The Section vice Chair, Prof. Dr. Asim ur Rehman as a Section Secretary, and Eng. Moiz ur Rehman as Section Treasurer. In addition Prof. Dr. Hyder Abbas Mousvi became Chair Communication Society,  Eng. Tahir Saleem will continue as Chair  Power & Energy Society, Dr. Bhagwan Das, Chair Computer Society,  Dr. Bushra Naeem, Chair Women in Engineering, Prof. Dr. M. Shahab Siddiqui Chair, Membership Development and New Initiatives, Mr. Ramiz Ansari, Chair, Young Professional,  Eng. Parkash Lohana, Chair Professional Activities, Dr. M. Sadiq Khan, Education Coordinator,  Dr. M. Shahid Shaikh, Chair – Conference Coordinator, and  Eng. Asif Siddiqui as a Industries Linkage Coordinator

Several Section Awards were given for  Successfully Organizing International IEEE Technnically sponsored Conferences last year

  1. iCoMET – Sukkur IBA University, Sukkur (Dr. Saeed Abro)
  2. INTELLECT, PAF-KIET, Karachi (Dr. Sameer Kazi)
  3. ICICT, IBA Karachi, (Dr. Shakeel Khoja)
  4. ICEEST, Iqra University, Karachi (Dr. Kamran Raza and Dr. Mansoor Ebrahim)
  5. MACS-13 – Institute of Business Management (IoBM), Karachi ( Dr. Tariq R. Soomro and Eng. M. Asghar)
  • Section Officers Awards

a) Outgoing Volunteer Awards 2019

  1. Dr. M. Shahid Shaikh, Chair, Karachi Section
  2. Dr. Shahab Siddiqui,   Vice Chair, Karachi Section
  3. Eng. Murtaza Hanif, Treasurer, Karachi Section
  4. Dr. Syed Hyder Abbas Vice Chiar ComSoc
  5. Eng. Hanan Daudpota Chair, YP
  6. Saifullah Baloach SSR 2019

b) Outstanding Volunteers award was given to

Dr. M. Sadiq Khan, Chair, Computer Society

Engr. Tahir Saleem, Chair, Power and Energy Society

Engr.  Atif Farid, bChair, SAC (for holding several

Mairaj Ul Haque Project Coordinator

Rafay Sheikh Asst.Project Coordintor

Saad Zaheer PSYWSC’19 Coordinator

c) Mr. Ali Akbar, from AWARE – in recognition of his support for IEEE Karachi Section

  1. Media Publicity Awards were given to:

          Engineering Post.

Most active Branch counsellor Tauseef Mubeen SSUET

Most Active Student Branch Chair Qasim Yousafzai BUITEMS, Quetta

Most Active Student Branch Syed Sajjad Hussain Hamdard University

Student Branch Membership Retention Award Dr. Syed Asif Ali Shah MUET Jamshoro

Best Student Branch Initiative Ayesha Saeed UIT, Karachi.