Task force Constituted to shift government offices to solar energy

The government is planning to shift the power supply to all the government offices and buildings to solar and green energy. Moreover promotion of the usage of solar power is also being planned for the domestic sector. Prime Minister Shehbaz Shareef has ordered the organization of a task force to work on implementing the installation of solar energy in the government offices and buildings as well as promoting the solar power to increase its usage in the domestic sector.

A time bracket of one week has been given to the task force to provide recommendations to the government authorities along with a proper plan to initiate the process progressively. The terms of reference of the task force include the construction of a quick method to shift the government offices to solar energy and finalizing a plan to promote and convert small consumers to solar energy through various financial aids including subsidy and considerable loans. The task force created by the Prime Minister includes Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, Dr Miftah Ismail, Ahsan Iqbal, Maryam Aurangzeb, Khurram Dastgir, Musaddak Malik, Ahad Khan Cheema, Secretary Power, Secretary Petroleum, Provincial Chief Secretaries and Energy Secretaries and Umar Saleem Cheema.